Loading Events

Women of WHC Present: Elyssa Friedland

Last Summer at the Golden Hotel

Tuesday January 11, 2022 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Online

  • This event has passed.

It’s a family reunion for the ages when two clans convene for the summer at their beloved getaway in the Catskills. In its heyday, The Golden Hotel was the crown jewel of the hotter-than-hot Catskills vacation scene. For more than sixty years, the Goldman and Weingold families – best friends and business partners – have presided over this glamorous resort which served as a second home for well-heeled guests and celebrities. But the Catskills are not what they used to be – and neither is the relationship between the Goldmans and the Weingolds. As the facilities and management begin to fall apart, a tempting offer to sell forces the two families together again to make a heart-wrenching decision. Can they save their beloved Golden or is it too late?

Long-buried secrets emerge, new dramas and financial scandals erupt, and everyone from the traditional grandparents to the millennial grandchildren wants a say in the hotel’s future. Business and pleasure clash in this fast-paced, hilarious, nostalgia-filled story, where the hotel owners rediscover the magic of a bygone era of nonstop fun even as they grapple with what may be their last resort.

Perfect for fans of Dirty Dancing and The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, Elyssa Friedland will join us on Tuesday, January 11 at 12:00 pm on Zoom for a look inside her latest book that, in her own words, is, “Dirty Dancing and Schitt’s Creek shared a little too much Manischewitz and got pregnant.”

This program is free and open to everyone. RSVP is required.

RSVP Here

About the Author:

Elyssa Friedland is the author of four novels. She attended Yale University, where she now teaches creative writing, and is a graduate of Columbia Law School. Her work has been published in The Washington PostMcSweeney’sPOPSUGAR, RealSimple.com, BustleModern BrideNew York MagazineColumbia Journalism ReviewCBS MarketWatch.com, and Yale Alumni Magazine.

Click here to purchase this book through WHC’s Mitzvah Mall.

 

Details

Date:

Tuesday, January 11

Time:

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Venue

Online

Tags

Adult Ed, Lecture, Women of WHC

Organizer

Lori Wise